In the Lap of the Queen

therapygirl

I immediately smell the cedar when I whiff this one. The ginger and carnation lend an aromatic feel that is fresh and clean. The only other note I can pick out is a faint brush of lily. As it dries, I can detect the sweetness of amber and a grounding of myrrh.This one is different, and sexy. Kind of reminds me of Miasma with Spanish Gold layered over it! I am really struggling with my reviews, as I am not good at picking out single notes, but I am really trying to focus because I want to be helpful.

If lily is the only note in this fragrance that I know does not work on me, try it or skip it?

I believe that "lily" is actually a non existant scent and that many people make lily accords. Unless you know the origin of the lily scent that doesn't work for you, and you know that a new scent uses the same accord from the same source, I would say don't rule it out.

Then again, I'm a big fan of trying things, now that I've had so many experiences of falling in love with scents that I first thought would never work for me in a million years.

Okay, time to spend time with this one and do a proper review. :-)

This potion was crafted with this concept in mind. It is a power potion of the highest order - made to balance aggressive and receptive energies, male and female sensibilites; draws awe and respect, prosperity and power - but tempers this with wisdom, compassion and balance. Ingredients: Fig, Heather, Sunflower, Cedar, Ginger, Carnation, Lily, Amber, Frank & Mhyrr.

In the bottle: I get a bit of creamy fig, and a lot of something bright that smells almost herbal. Perhaps it is the cedar playing with the carnation, frankincense and mhyrr.

On, wet: The sharp, herbal scent takes over on my skin, in a way which reminds me of Sandman Snoozeth. It is almost frustrating because I keep getting the subtle hints of creamy fig in the background, but it can't compete.